ICICI Amazon Pay vs. Axis Bank Flipkart Credit Card: Which Offers Better Cashback Benefits?

Hello everyone,

I've been using the Axis Bank Flipkart Credit Card for the past 5 years and recently applied for the ICICI Amazon Pay Credit Card. After comparing both cards, I wanted to share my thoughts and seek clarification on some cashback-related points.

My Observations:​

1. ICICI Amazon Pay Credit Card:
    • The 5% cashback for Prime members is credited to the Amazon Pay balance.
    • This balance can be used for shopping on Amazon or with partner merchants, but it cannot be used to pay the credit card bill directly.
    • To use this balance, I have to make a transaction through Amazon Pay. It feels more like a wallet benefit than actual cashback.
    • I cannot load my Amazon Pay balance using the credit card itself; it requires UPI, net banking, or other payment methods.
    • If you make a transaction of ₹1,000 on Amazon, you can't use the cashback already credited to your Amazon Pay balance to pay for it directly. You still have to pay the full ₹1,000 to receive the 5% cashback. If you wish to use your Amazon Pay balance for this purchase, you’d need to manually add ₹500 to your wallet, but in doing so, you won’t receive the 5% cashback benefit on this amount. This makes the cashback less flexible and more difficult to fully utilize in practice.
  2. Axis Bank Flipkart Credit Card:
    • The cashback earned is automatically adjusted against the next billing cycle, directly reducing the amount I owe on the credit card.
    • This feels like a more tangible financial benefit, as it lowers the outstanding balance without any restrictions on where or how to spend the cashback.
    • It seems more straightforward and beneficial, especially for someone like me who prefers having the cashback directly applied to my bill.

My Question:​