Some information on mutual funds

Hello everyone

I am new to mutual funds. Please help me with below funds:

1. Which platform I should choose to invest in mutual funds? Like Groww, ET money app or I should go to my bank and do it from their side?
2. I am planning to invest in multi asset fund. I researched some of the funds like ICIC pru multi asset fund, quant, parag parekh etc. Are these funds good?

Please help me. Thanks

realanubhav

KF Rookie
Choosing the right platform and funds for your first foray into mutual funds can be overwhelming, but I'm happy to help! Here's my take on your questions:
1. Platform Choice:
  • Convenience: Both Groww and ET Money are user-friendly apps designed for beginners. They offer research tools, investment recommendations, and easy portfolio management.
  • Direct vs Regular Plans: Consider if you want direct plans (lower expense ratio) or regular plans (distributor commission). Groww and ET Money offer both, while most banks only offer regular plans.
  • Additional Features: Some platforms, like Groww, offer SIP calculators, goal-based investing, and fractional investing. Choose one based on your needs and comfort level.
2. Multi-Asset Funds:
Multi-asset funds offer diversification across asset classes like equity, debt, and gold. They can be a good choice for beginners seeking moderate risk. However, consider these factors:
  • Investment Horizon: Match the fund's risk profile and allocation to your investment horizon (e.g., 5-7 years for moderate risk).
  • Fund Performance: Look at the fund's historical performance, expense ratio, and risk-adjusted returns compared to peers.
  • Asset Allocation: Understand the fund's allocation to different asset classes and how it aligns with your risk appetite.
Here's a quick review of the funds you mentioned:
  • ICICI Pru Multi Asset Fund: Balanced fund with equity exposure of 40-80%. Decent long-term track record.