I need some advice.

debangshuskr

KF Rookie
can anyone tell me which is the best zero balance savings account in 2024 with no hidden or extra charges.
As I recently became 18 years old and I'm a student and I need one account in my name to do online transaction, etc.
I can only keep 2k in the account which is my pocket money and it would be best if i get some rewards or deals on online spends.

realanubhav

KF Rookie
Choosing the best zero-balance savings account for you in 2024 depends on your specific needs and priorities as a student. Here are some options to consider, all with no hidden charges:
1. Based on Rewards and Offers:
  • Equitas Small Finance Bank Selfie Account: This account offers 1% cashback on all online spends, 12.5% cashback on Amazon and Flipkart via Grab Deals, and 5% to 45% on 30 other brands. It also has free unlimited checkbooks and insurance for air accidents and baggage. However, the interest rate is only 3.50%.
  • Kotak Mahindra 811 Full KYC Account: This account provides a free digital debit card and access to NEFT, IMPS, and RTGS without charges. You also get 5 free financial transactions per month, after which there's a charge of INR 20 per transaction. Additionally, they offer cashback on bill payments and other deals through Kotak CRED.
2. Based on Convenience and Features:
  • State Bank of India Basic Savings Account (BSBDA): This account is widely accepted and has a large network of ATMs. It offers free online banking and mobile banking, along with a free debit card. However, there are no rewards or cashback.
  • IDFC First Bank Pratham Savings Account: This account is specifically designed for students and offers a free RuPay debit card, free online transactions, and free accidental death insurance cover. While the interest rate is low (3.25%), they have student-friendly features like scholarships and discounts.
3. Based on Minimum Balance: