Unsecured credit cards for students already having CIBIL score

bozon

KF Rookie
I am a college student and I depend on my parents for my expenses. I already got an entry level pre-approved credit card with a decent limit (close to 40k). I have been using it for the last 6 months and my current CIBIL score is decent.
Will it be a good decision to apply for an unsecured credit card? I have seen some decent credit cards like IDFC Millenia, AU credit cards that have the option to choose "student" as occupation. But I already have CIBIL score but I am neither salaried nor self-employed at this moment.

Last edited:

talk2rik

KF Rookie
I got you. First of all, congratulations on having an unsecured credit card already. I hope you use it properly and pay the bills every month with 100% accuracy.

Now, talking about applying for other credit cards, you should know that the financial year ending, the month of March, is a win-win time for both the customers and banks. Banks provide credit cards with the lifetime free (LTF) facility and the customers may get it without any income document. Almost every bank follows it. But there is a catch. You must know which card is made for you at this particular time. Otherwise, you will keep trying and banks will keep sending enquiries to your credit reports, which will show a negative impact on your credit history for a long time.

To solve this issue, you can use Paisabazaar, where your existing cards will be fetched from your credit report, and based on some basic details, it will show you the credit cards to which you can apply.

You can apply it directly from the Paisabazaar website because it makes the process smoother. Also, you won't have to apply separately as Paisabazaar shows probable credit cards that you may get.